LEAP Wins Leadership Award for Solarize

The Solarize NoVA program, an initiative of the Northern Virginia Regional Commission (NVRC) and the Local Energy Alliance Program (LEAP), won a first place statewide award from the Virginia Energy Efficiency Council.

Since Solarize NoVA’s inception, more than 4,400 residents and/or businesses have signed up for consideration to participate in the program. In addition to solar, LEAP has provided home energy checkups to 630 northern Virginia families that help save consumers up to 780 kWh annually. Additionally, LEAP has completed 15 weatherization projects on multi-family residential units in the area. 

As a result of the Solarize NoVA program, 183 contracts for new solar arrays have been entered into with a rated capacity in excess of 1.4 MW of solar with a contract value in exceeding $4.45 million.The 1.4 MW of solar is equivalent to:

  • 1,901,000 kWh of electricity generated
  • 3,120,000 pounds of CO₂ saved
  • 138,000 gallons of oil saved

In addition to helping communities use less energy and reduce greenhouse gas emissions, part of LEAP’s mission is to promote job creation and local economic development, therefore, the Solarize program only uses local, Virginia-based contractors.

“We are proud of our efforts in the region to promote both energy efficiency and renewable energy,” said Robert W. Lazaro, Jr., Executive Director of NVRC. “We are especially delighted to work with our local government partners, our invaluable partners at LEAP and others to help raise awareness of the value of efficiency and renewables.”

“Solarize NoVA is an exemplary initiative which allows LEAP to truly succeed in its mission to help building owners reduce and produce their energy usage while stimulating economic development. Our partnership with NVRC is an ideal example of LEAP’s community-based alliance model collaborative partnerships. We’re so pleased with the results we’ve achieved thus far, and we look forward to continuing Solarize NoVA into 2019,” said Lesley Fore, Executive Director of LEAP.